I can’t express how much respect I have – Cyprus Tennis

Posted on June 29, 2010

0



John Isner in 2009 US Open match against Ferna...

Image via Wikipedia

Cyprus Tennis – reviews the longest match in history – 29 June 2010 – Tennis in Cyprus

I’m writing this a bit late, but I’ve been running like a crazy person.  I have to say that tennis has reached new heights, that Isner and Mahut were amazing.  It wouldn’t happen in any other sport.  The match lasted just over 11 hours over 3 days and on the 2nd day they played for 7 hours solid!  Can you imagine that?  Ok, 2 hours is fairly standard, but more than that then it is really testing not just your physical, but your mental strength.  I don’t know about you, but if I was playing after even 4 or 5 hours, I would have just been praying for it to end.  I would have needed someone to carry me off the court; I wouldn’t have been able to walk any more. 

The reputation of tennis has gone sky high from this and it will result in more people playing tennis – they have suddenly realised how exciting it can be and tough.

So, hats off to Isner and Mahut – you have earnt many people’s eternal respect!

Posted in: Cyprus Tennis, News