Face-to face with future champion

Posted on August 24, 2010

0



Cyprus Tennis – interviews future tennis champion – 24 August 2010 – Tennis in Cyprus

Kieran is a 12 year old future tennis star from Hampshire in the UK.  I met up with him when he was visiting Aphrodite Hills in Cyprus during their Friday night singles tournament.  A runner up the week before, he came very close again.  A down to earth person, he has a mature outlook on life and yes, he beat me!

Q.  When did you start playing tennis?

Kieran:  That’s a good question.  Maybe 3 to 4 years ago.  I was on holiday in Crete and had a few group lessons with a coach.  At first I didn’t really like it much.

Q.  Why did you carry on?

Kieran:  My dad wanted to play, so we played together and I started to enjoy it.  I’ve had coaching since then about twice a week and now I have two different coaches.

Q.  Why do you have two coaches?

Kieran:  Well the one is good with drills and really works on my consistency, but I also wanted someone to work on my shots and my game.  The combination works well.

Q.  Do you belong to a club?

Kieran:  Yes.  I play for them in the Men’s team.  Unfortunately, we don’t have enough people for a junior team.

Q.  When did you first come to Aphrodite Hills?

Kieran:  Last August.  We enjoyed it so much we came back again.

Q.  What do you think of the coaching at Aphrodite Hills?

Kieran:  I haven’t had any coaching here, but I have heard it is very good.  I like the whole place, all the activities and I have taken part in some of them, including the regular social tennis and tournaments.  The level of tennis here is high so there are plenty of good players here to play against, especially in the singles tournaments.   I would say that the only downside to the academy is the cost of the individual lessons.  I’d like cheaper lessons so I could do it.   I may look into doing an intensive tennis week as I have heard it is good value. 

Q.  What would you like to improve about your game?

Kieran:  I’d like to play better volleys – I take too big a swing – and to be more confident and aggressive on court.

Q:  What would you like to do when you grow u?

Kieran:  I’d like to do something with tennis, coaching or maybe tennis journalism.

Q:  What would you say to someone thinking about starting to play tennis?

Kieran:  You should definitely try because it’s a great sport and is quite easy to learn!

