Cyprus Tennis – Day 3 of Intensive Tennis Course

Posted on October 20, 2010

2



Cyprus Tennis  – reviews the 3rd day of a week long intensive tennis course at Aphrodite Hills – 20 October 2010 – Tennis in Cyprus

An early start again.  A big rush again to get there in time, so we had breakfast at Aphrodite Hills.  It was an excellent day.  It was hot, but not too hot.  We started again with hitting a short ball from the baseline. This time I had a small target to aim for.  It still took me time to get the hang of it, but I did hit the target once and came very close quite a few times.

Cyprus Tennis waiting for that ball

Then we moved off plan and decided to work on my groundstrokes and get me hitting the ball early – either at the top of the bounce or before.  This an aggressive form of play so I of course enjoyed it.  It’s also hard work and certainly gave me a workout.  Throughout, I used focus points, mainly 1 on the bounce, 2 on hitting the ball, focusing on making it a quick transition from 1 to 2.  Also, I noticed that the times I took the ball really early and did it well, were when I was moving my racquet back in time with the approaching ball – another focus point.  We spent quite a bit of time on this, putting targets for me to aim for, first to the sides and afterwards in the centre.

Finally, we worked a little on my serve, especially my second serve.

Meanwhile, my friend’s group grew again to have 4 people, with Jo joining from the UK.  They covered groundstrokes again, looking at how to anticipate the return and do what I was doing – bringing the racquet back in time with the approaching ball.  Twice this was done with headphones on with music.  Then they moved onto volleys, the position to take and how to move forward and take the volley.

Jo hitting a volley, doing the "panther"

Later on I played again against another opponent, trying to put into practice everything I had learnt.  Some of it worked, some didn’t, but that may of had something to do with the pretty strong wind that was blowing 🙂 

 Overall, we both had a great time and made progress, but we both need to practice more everything we learnt.

