Cyprus Tennis – Day 4 of Intensive Tennis Course

Posted on October 25, 2010

1



Fernando Verdasco volleys in winning match aga...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Cyprus Tennis – review of day 4 of an intensive tennis course at Aphrodite Hills – 21 October 2010 – Tennis in Cyprus

So, day 4 and I don’t want it to end.  I wish I could do this every day.  No time for superjuice unfortunately 😦 , but we arrived in time at Aphrodite Hills.  Started the same way again with short balls from the baseline, then half volleys at the service line followed by intensive volleying practice.  First static ones and then approach volleys, trying to refine my technique and increase my success rate.  Then we moved onto the full series of approach shot, approach volley, attack volley, with loads of sprinting.  Wyn’s promised that he will work me really hard tomorrow for our last day – he knows I like to be pushed.  Apparently he’s going to kill me with running and hitting and everything, but I have an ace up my sleeve – if he makes me run, I’ll make him run! 🙂  No, seriously, I’m looking forward to it and want to push myself as hard as I can.

Meanwhile, on the other court, the fabulous foursome of Naheed, Cally, Jo and Daniel were really improving.  My friend’s groundstrokes were really beginning to take shape, with good follow through and shape consistently.  Afterwards, they worked on volleys pretending to be a “panther” which worked well.  And, then service.  My friend had to really start from the beginning, but she was making progress by the end.

Naheed trying out her backhand

